Drinks of Summer: Ramos Gin Yum

Ramos Gin FizzThis post is part of Cocktail Culture’s Drinks of Summer series, in which we will feature light & refreshing warm-weather cocktails.

My latest drink obsession—I love a Ramos Gin Fizz! Now, the TOTC session with Audrey Saunders was not the first time I’ve tried a Ramos Gin Fizz but it was the first time I realized how fantastically awesome they are. I haven’t been able to get them off my mind since. It is, by far, my favorite gin drink at the moment. Reese, over at Cocktail Hacker did a great write-up of the RG Fizz recently, with delicious-looking photos, so check him out.

Here’s the recipe I prefer:

Ramos Gin Fizz

1 tbsp. superfine sugar

3-4 drops orange flower water

Juice of ½ lemon

Juice of ½ lime

1 ½ oz. Beefeater gin

1 egg white

2 tablespoons heavy cream

Seltzer

Combine all ingredients (except seltzer) in a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake very well (like…you better shake your arm off and freeze your hands) and strain into a Collins glass. Top with Seltzer and stir. I also like it garnished with an orange slice like Reese used in his.

This is not an easy drink to make but, as an occasional treat, I think it’s well worth the time and effort. It’s a great-tasting cocktail with a wonderful history (read Paul Clarke’s article from way back when to read up on all that and more). So if you’re feeling ambitious this weekend and can get your hands on some orange flower water, you’ve absolutely got to try this!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a comment