Dr. Bamboo’s Dime Store Kiss

Mixing up a Dime Store Kiss cocktail, as created by Doctor Bamboo

I thoroughly enjoy receiving emails or comments from bloggers telling me some of the various uses they have found for the spirits brands I have shared with them. It truly is exciting to read about all of the creative, inspiring and delicious cocktail recipes that float my way. One such example is a recipe recently emailed to me from blogger extraordinaire and fellow Bar None Drinks compatriot, Doctor Bamboo. Dr. B shared with me a cocktail recipe he created in the weekly Mixoloseum chat room called the Dime Store Kiss and the drink calls for Hiram Walker’s Butterscotch Schnapps in the list of ingredients.

I had a chance to stir up the Dime Store Kiss for myself before leaving town and wanted to share the drink recipe Doctor Bamboo graciously shared with me.

Dime Store Kiss (created by Doctor Bamboo)
  • 2 oz. Kraken Black Spiced Rum
  • .75 oz. Black cherry juice (Dr. B recommends Knudsen’s brand)
  • .25 oz Hiram Walker Butterscotch Schnapps
  • 1 dash Angostura bitters
  • 3 Whoppers candies

Dry-muddle the Whoppers.  Add remaining ingredients, shake with ice and double-strain into cocktail glass.

Never had I ever thought I would be stirring up a cocktail recipe that first called for dry muddling chocolate-coated candies. I suppose we've scratch another item off the cocktail bucket list!

This drink served as our evening’s dessert and was welcomed for its balancing of both spicy and sweet flavor profiles. The drink starts with a slight bite, thanks in part to the hearty rum, but rounds out to finish smoothly, offering what could be described as a near-caramel taste. For a slightly sweeter edition, I could perhaps find adding in a quarter ounce of Kahlua as a welcomed addition; I think that the liqueur’s base of rum, coffee and cocoa would fit in nicely with the recipe. This is one drink I’ll certainly keep in my back pocket, especially with all the superfluous post-Halloween candy that seems to continue hanging around in the grocery and convenience stores.

Many thanks to Dr. B again for sharing this drink recipe with me – cheers!
– SJ

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

