Friday’s Feature Cocktail – The Grasshopper

Grasshopper Cocktail shaken up during the Easter holiday

9/18/11: I had intended to post this on Friday, but unfortunately WordPress has been acting up for me since then and is finally allowing me to post, wahoo! Sorry again for the belatedness but I hope you enjoy the cocktail post. Cheers – SJ

I know I have been enveloped the launch of Hiram Walker’s new Caramel Apple Liqueur, that I thought it time to switch gears momentarily.

When it would have otherwise passed under my radar, I noticed a tweet yesterday afternoon from Tasting Panel, via Party Planner, announcing that September 15 was National Créme de Menthe Day. It also happened to be National Linguini Day, but I fail to see any sort of parity there.

But I digress.

I can’t think of a drink more commonly associate with Crème de Menthe than the Grasshopper, a cocktail shaken with equal parts Green Crème de Menthe, Crème de Cacao and cream. But coming from this recipe are innumerable variations, among which you may find the Flying (add vodka in place of the cream) or Frozen (just add mint ice cream) Grasshopper.

Today’s Feature Cocktail is a Grasshopper recipe straight from the Hiram Walker database that combines the best of both variations. You’ll find the recipe calls for higher alcohol with the ½ part of ABSOLUT Vodka and utilizes two unique liqueurs in place of the cream. But at the center of it all, you’ll still find that Green Crème de Menthe, keeping the traditional Grasshopper intact. Here’s the recipe:
Grasshopper:
• ¼ part Kahlúa® Coffee Liqueur
• ¼ part Irish Cream Liqueur
• ½ Hiram Walker® Crème de Menthe
• ½ ABSOLUT® Vodka

Shake all ingredients with ice, strain into a cocktail glass, and serve.

Cheers and have a great weekend!
SJ

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Friday’s Feature Cocktail – The Grasshopper

  1. While I appreciate the variant, and it does look good, the name should be a variant also. Green grasshopper? Irish Grasshopper? Happy Grasshopper?

Leave a Reply

