Gin is in Full Bloom

The Bel Air Cocktail

While I’m one to happily sip on gin year-round, I’m finding that the juniper-based spirit is starting to see its place again on seasonally-influenced cocktail menus around town.

In the spirit of it all, I found these Beefeater-based recipes from the “Ultimate Little Cocktail Book”, written by bartender Ray Foley and decided to do some shaking at the office.

I mixed up the Bel Air cocktail, a hearty gin drink with the seasonally appropriate addition of the apricot brandy. The grenadine – could do with or without it – but I think it is necessary that part of this drink’s mixing instructions would be to serve chilled and drink only in the comforts of an outdoor patio after a day at the office. Don’t you feel more relaxed already just thinking about it?

Up close and personal...

Bel Air Cocktail

Shake. (I then strained and served in a chilled cocktail glass.) 

Another drink I found to look even more intriguing was the Copper Illusion Martini. I had all ingredients on hand but, um, the drink as I had found it has no measurements…

Back to the Internet I went and found a vast range of pour sizes and serving methods for this one cocktail. While the exact measurements are still TBD, it seems the resurgent theme is equal parts of Campari and Hiram Walker Triple Sec with a much heartier serving of Beefeater. So below would be my educated guess with that thought in mind (official taste test still to come).

Copper Illusion Martini

  • 1 1/2 parts Beefeater
  • 1/2 part Hiram Walker Triple Sec
  • 1/2 part Campari

Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Serve with an orange twist.

If you have any further insights into this drink’s history or a more accurate serving method, I am all ears! Feel free to leave me a comment or shoot me an email.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

