Spiked Christmas Chai

The Spiked Christmas Chai - recipe and photo shared courtesy of Fashionably Bombed

Let it be known that your host at Cocktail Culture is a huge fan of chai. I’ve tried my hand at making  a few chai-flavored cocktails, but I suppose I should just leave those things to the experts and stick to the role I’m best at: taste tester!

The goofy and chic sisters at Fashionably Bombed are making a splash with their “12 Days of Christmas Cocktails” series, and day three featured one of my favorite flavor combos ever – chai! Considering that Katherine lived and studied in India for quite some time, I’ll take her recipe to be pretty authentic; add in a bit of booze (vodka, some Irish cream, and Hiram Walker Original Cinn, to be exact)…well, then you have yourself a delicious Christmas treat!

I know the recipe calls for vodka, but I’d be curious as to how this would taste with a brown spirit (I’m thinking bourbon…) in place of the vodka. Would it mask some of the chai flavor? Guess I know what I’m experimenting with this weekend, now… Enough blabbering, here’s the Fashionably Bombed Spiked Christmas Chai:

Spiked Christmas Chai (created by Katherine and Flannery Good)

1 cup water
1 cup whole milk
2 black tea bags
1 teaspoon finely chopped ginger
5 cloves
5 cardamom pods (slightly crushed)
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons vodka
1 tablespoon Bailey’s Irish Cream
2 teaspoons Hiram Walker Original Cinn cinnamon schnapps

In a saucepan combine water, milk, tea bags, ginger, cloves and cardamom pods.  Bring to a boil and stir continuously.  Turn stove to low and add sugar.  Keep stirring for 3-4 minutes until it’s a light brown color.  Remove from heat and strain.  Stir in vodka, Bailey’s and cinnamon schnapps.  Garnish with a cinnamon stick.

Oh, this is gonna keep me nice and toasty through all 12 days of Christmas…

Cheers!
SJ

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Spiked Christmas Chai

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Spiked Christmas Chai | Cocktail Culture -- Topsy.com

  2. There is a great new chai liqueur on the market called Voyant Cream Liqueur. I don’t think it’s yet available in all 50 states but it is worth tracking down a bottle if you can. It’s on the sweet side so it can be added to chai or tea much like a shot of coffee liqueur.

    • cocktailculture

      Hey Greg,
      I do in fact have a bottle already at home! The importer for Voyant is based out here in CT and we’ve met for lunch before. I’d personally recommend the product to anyone who hasn’t tried it before.

      Hope all is well with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

