Punch!

Photo from Flickr.com

I know I started writing about Thanksgiving and some holiday cocktails a few weeks ago, but this past Friday, it really hit me. I was walking to a meeting in New York City and heard that ruminating jingle of the Salvation Army holiday donation bells and I totally freaked out. Thanksgiving, and the start of the holiday season madness, is literally one week away. S#(t!

So now I’m mentally gearing up for Thanksgiving in the next two days and what comes to mind but the beautiful cornucopia decorations that seem to traditionally be associated with this holiday. And it’s dawned on me – isn’t a punch recipe a liquid cornucopia of sorts? (I think I may need to trademark that!) A combination of robust ingredients and all-natural flavorings, I’m finding that Hiram Walker’s liqueurs are going to be a welcomed addition to those most basic holiday punch recipes.  And, elevated by Dave Wondrich’s new book, Punch, recently hitting shelves, it seems punch is officially back in style!

Here’s a hearty recipe I’m anxious to try over Thanksgiving and throughout the holiday party season, although I’m hesitant it may be a little too heavy after what I assume will be another filling turkey dinner this weekend. I guess we’ll never know until we try!

Hiram Holiday Eggnog Punch

  • 1 part Hiram Walker Amaretto
  • 1/4 part Kahlúa
  • 5 parts Eggnog (I’m open to brand recommendations here, it seems everyone has different taste buds with this stuff…)

Top with whipped cream and grated nutmeg for garnish.

Do your family and friends have any drinking traditions for the Thanksgiving holiday? Please feel free to share your stories!

Cheers!
SJ

2 Comments

Filed under events, Recipes

2 responses to “Punch!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Punch! « Cocktail Culture -- Topsy.com

  2. I’ve always found that Mom’s eggnog tasted way better than anything I’ve ever bought at a store. I always need to call my Mom around this time to get the actual measurements but it includes:
    *milk
    *eggs
    *nutmeg
    *cinnamon
    *sugar
    *vanilla extract

    You can play with the amounts yourself and then add that glorious alcohol to the mix.

Leave a Reply

