The Big Apple’s Best Commuter Bars

Grand Central Station's main concourse (photo from destination360.com)

James Mulcahy is a mind reader.

For reals. New York’s all-around barfly wrote a piece special to Metromix earlier this month about some of the top commuter bars to crawl into while in the vicinity of the city’s many transit hubs: Grand Central Station, Penn Station and, yes, even Port Authority.

My locale in CT is just far enough that I still have to plan pretty ‘on-point’ to get into the city by a certain time but close enough that I can be under Manhattan’s big lights on any given day. As a somewhat frequent Metro-North commuter, I’ve come to learn the ins-and-outs of shuffling through Grand Central Station, but a light bulb clicked on when I read James’ story – I really haven’t explored the drinking scene near the stations! This clearly must be changed.

I’ll be doing a bunch of traveling in and out of New York over the next several weeks (both for work – more to come there! – and for pleasure) so I’m going to start a running list on this blog entry of the different bars I come across in my adventures.

In the interim of not having begun my commuter bar crawl, be sure to give James’ story a read. There are definitely a slew of options on there to lead me in the right direction along my imbibing adventure.

Cheers!
SJ

4 Comments

Filed under bars

4 responses to “The Big Apple’s Best Commuter Bars

  1. Before we discovered Flatiron Lounge, and before Pegu Club was even open, Jen and I used to meet up sometimes at the Campbell. Lovely place to have a drink, especially if you’re with a hot date and you’re both a little swanked up. It’s the type of bar where jeans look more out of place than a suit does.

    After having experienced Flatiron and Pegu, we returned to Campbell a couple of times and found the cocktail program to lack ambition, so having found better places to tipple, we stopped going. But still… it’s extremely convenient to Grand Central, it’s a beautiful space, and you honestly will feel like you’re having a tryst with Don Draper. Definitely worth a visit, but don’t expect great drinks.

    • cocktailculture

      I’ll move the Campbell up to first on my to-do list. 🙂 I’m certainly not expecting the complexity of the cocktail menus of Pegu Club or others, but it’ll be nice to know that there are more options in the area than I even realized!

  2. Pingback: The Big Apple’s Best Commuter Bars | Alcohol news and reviews

  3. Amy

    Campbell Apartment is definitely tops of my list for Grand Central. It’s more about atmosphere there than an inventive cocktail list but in this case, it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

