Whiskey Sour Variations

Labor Day and – dare I speak its name – autumn are right around the corner. My past weekend of SUN, SUN, and SUN has shifted to gloom and rain and took a major temperature dip in my corner of New England.

However, I’m not quitting on you yet, summer. And the celebration of National Whiskey Sour Day is the perfect cocktail to keep me in the spirit. The Sour in general has been my go-to drink this summer, perfect for patio drinks and dining. I’ve explored mixing it in a multitude of base spirits: brandies, orange liqueurs, and bourbons have been among the major players.

Today, with a company end-of-summer picnic as the backdrop, I’m feeling the mood has been set to try a Jameson Whiskey Sour.

Jameson Whiskey Sour (recipe from Bar None Drinks)
2 parts Jameson Irish Whiskey
1 dash Bitters
1 part Egg White
1/2 part Lemon Juice
1/3 part Simple Syrup

Pour ingredients into a cocktail shaker and shake over ice. Strain into a rocks glass and garnish with an orange twist. (I personally enjoy a cherry or two thrown in as well)

What other whisk(e)y varieties and/or recipe ratios do you use when making the perfect Whiskey Sour? I’d love to hear your feedback!

Cheers!

SJ

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

