Recapping (and recuoping) from Tales

While there is plenty more coverage to come I thought I’d just share a quick update with you all that I have returned to Connecticut after a fantastic trip to New Orleans for Tales of the Cocktail. Needless to say, my liver has been a bit “overworked” and my arteries are clogged with fried deliciousness. I wouldn’t have had it any other way!

So here’s the quick rundown. I went to New Orleans and, instead of a lousy t-shirt, I came back with:

  • My own copy of Jill DeGroff’s book, “Lush Life: Portraits from the Bar”
  • Not one, but two hats, acquired from the Beefeater Welcome Reception and Ricard Midnight Petanque, respectively. Sadly, I traveled by but did not enter Meyer’s hat shop on St. Charles, much to RumDood’s disappointment (I was on the streetcar at the time…)
  • A beautiful glass bottle etched by hand that at one point contained Mandarine Napoleón XO, a product that is not currently available in the states
  • Visions of chartreuse swizzles, courtesy of the Mixo House
  • And expanded knowledge on a wide range of subjects, from discussing emerging social media practices to exploring the sense of Umami
  • A plethora of business cards from all the new acquaintances I met and cannot wait to keep in touch with

I look forward to sharing more with you as I recap and detox from this wonderful five-day adventure. But in the interim, I would love to hear from you 1) your favorite memories from Tales and 2) the best thing (swag, spirit, bitters, tchatchkes) you managed to sneak back home in your suitcase.

2 Comments

Filed under events

2 responses to “Recapping (and recuoping) from Tales

  1. Pingback: Recapping (and recuoping) from Tales | Alcohol news and reviews

Leave a Reply

