Mad About the Mudslide

My friend Mary makes a mean mudslide. (Yup, try saying that one five times fast…)

It’s true though. Mary is a friend of mine who – while not slaving away in graduate school – is a bartender part-time at The Counter, a California-inspired burger joint transplanted in New England. On a recent outing for dinner, my beau and I visited Mary and were (shockingly) surprised when I still somehow had room to imbibe in a milkshake for dessert.

I was giddy at the Kahlúa-spiked delight Mary presented to me.  When I asked about her creation, she gave me this recipe: 1 oz. Kahlúa, 2 oz. Vodka, 1 oz. Bailey’s, then “ Add ice cream and milk, maybe some chocolate (syrup) to darken things up a bit and you’re set to go!” Then, of course, there is the whipped cream, which I can do with or without. Simple enough. “Mary’s Mudslide”, as we have since dubbed it, was a tremendous winner in my eyes (or, rather, stomach).

And then I started thinking of other variations to the mudslide that would taste just as scrumptious in the warm-weather months. I think this Hiram Walker goodie will do just the trick:

Banana Mudslide

1 part Kahlúa
1 part Absolut Vodka
1 part Irish Cream Liqueur
½ part Hiram Walker Crème de Banana
1 part milk

Combine with ice (or ICE CREAM!!) in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve with a straw (I think a pint glass is your best bet, but a hurricane glass works as well).

Cheers!
-SJ

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Mad About the Mudslide

  1. Wow, great job here. Awesome picture too! You should really consider submitting this to Recipe4Living’s Summertime Sipper Contest! I think it could win!

Leave a Reply

