Friday Feature Cocktail: Hot Toddy

Hiram Walker Hot Cinn Apple Toddy

Hiram Walker Hot Cinn Apple Toddy

It is now 2013 and so far all the New Year has brought me is a new pesky cold that does not want to leave me alone. Luckily, it’s Friday and I plan to enjoy some rest and relaxation all weekend long. I also plan to enjoy a nice Hot Toddy to soothe my throat from the lovely coughing that won’t seem to stop. My grandmother always suggested drinking a Hot Toddy as a cure for the cold, and right now I’m willing to try anything, especially if it’s a cocktail!

For a traditional Hot Toddy here is a Jameson Hot Toddy recipe, courtesy of JamesonWhisky.com

  • 3 parts Jameson
  • 2 parts lemon juice
  • 1 part honey
  • 4 parts hot water
  • 2-3 cloves
  • Lemon slice

Method: Pour all ingredients into a mug or glass with a handle, stir until the honey is dissolved, drop in the cloves and garnish with a thin slice of lemon.

For a sweeter spin on the classic Hot Toddy you can try out a Hot Cinn Apple Toddy:

  • 1 ½ parts Bourbon
  • 1 ½ parts Hiram Walker Original Cinn Schnapps
  • 1.2 oz fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • Hot apple cider
  • Green apple slice dipped in hot caramel or cinnamon stick for garnish

Pour the bourbon, schnapps and lemon juice into an Irish coffee glass or mug. Stir well. Fill with hot apple cider. Garnish with the green apple or a cinnamon stick.  

As a disclaimer I would like to point out to you all that I am not doctor (nor am I even close to being a doctor) and if you really are sick I always recommend seeking professional advice. Also, if you are already taking any cold medicine to remedy your cold, I do not recommend mixing those cold medicines with alcohol!!!

Hope you have a happy and healthy weekend!

Enjoy :)

-KJ

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Friday Feature Cocktail: Hot Toddy

  1. Pingback: Snowstorm Essentials! | Cocktail Culture

Leave a Reply

