Boston Cocktail Summit: Making Your Own Vermouth

Last week I featured the Ward Eight cocktail after my trip up to Boston for the Boston Cocktail Summit, and I would be remiss not to share with you the other events I was able to attend during my day at the Summit. My second stop of the day was the “Making Your Own Vermouth” event, which was sponsored by Pernod Ricard and held at the beautiful Island Creek Oyster Bar.

I am always interested in learning more about cocktails; the history of cocktails, the wide variety of ingredients that are used, and of course how they taste! I was very excited to sit in on the seminar about Vermouth, an ingredient I don’t think to include very often. In a live demonstration, Eastern Standard Rosé Vermouth was made step by step during the seminar and I was amazed that the whole process (minus the cooling) could be completed in such a short period of time! 

During the demonstration we were given Vermouth to taste, as well as each of the ingredients included in the Vermouth to smell and examine and to look for in our samples. Personally, my favorite part of the seminar was the delicious cocktails that were served including Eastern Standard Vermouth and various spirits. Below is a recipe featuring Vermouth and Plymouth Gin courtesy of the seminar:

Vermouth Cocktails

The Rosé

  • 1 oz Plymouth Gin
  • 1 oz Rosé Vermouth
  • ½ oz honey syrup
  • ½ oz lime juice

Shake, strain up

As a parting gift we all received individual samples, as well as the ingredients and a recipe booklet in order to make our own. I will be sure to keep you posted on whether or not I am brave enough to attempt to recreate this Vermouth, but it does sound like a very fun winter activity!

Enjoy!

-KJ

Leave a comment

Filed under events

Leave a Reply

