The OTHER NY Football Team Cocktail!

A couple weeks back now, Kayla wrote a great blog post to kick off the NFL season featuring a Hiram Walker Blue Curacao Margarita in support of her defending Super Bowl champion team, the New York Giants. And, since the G-Men are back on the field tonight in a Thursday night matchup (…which we’ve already discussed today. Like I said, Kayla’s a HUGE fan!), I thought I’d try to cleverly swoop in and post a little football inspired cocktail of my own today. But this one’s in support of New York’s other football team, the New York Jets!!

I’m a huge JETS fan! I’m always using my Jets beer mug on game day and have my hard helmet on standby as well (and, yes, I’ll wear it into a bar!). So when the task was placed before me to feature a Gang Green inspired cocktail – well, let’s just say the drink’s color was determinately not in question. That left me three choices from the Hiram Walker portfolio – their Melon Liqueur, Creme de Menthe and Sour Apple Schnapps.

Following in Kayla’s lead, I’ve decided to feature a cocktail today that is worldly recognized in its classic form and has been cleverly adapted to match a variety of flavor profiles. Enter the Melon Cosmo Martini, from Hiram Walker’s expansive recipe database:

Melon Cosmo Martini

  • ¾ part Hiram Walker® Melon Liqueur
  • 2 parts ABSOLUT® Citron Vodka
  • Splash White Cranberry Juice

Add all ingredients to a shaker with ice. Shake, strain and serve in a martini glass.

I invite you to give this recipe a try this upcoming Sunday for when the JETS hit the road to play the Dolphins in Miami. I would love as well to hear your favorite football-inspired recipes so please do leave us a comment below.

Cheers to a great season and.. J-E-T-S! JETS! JETS! JETS!
-SJ

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

