An Island Destination

You know those old sayings that everyone told you while you were in college? Those “Enjoy it now, before it’s all over” kind of sayings? I wish I had paid more attention to them.

It’s been quite the action-packed year for me in the 13 months since earning my degree, but never has it hit me as hard as it is right now. You see, most of my friends here in Connecticut are graduate students. And, while I am not at all envious of the tiresome amounts of work they have day and day out, I am incredibly jealous of them all for one reason and one reason only: summer vacation.

So while all of my friends will be departing on cruises, visiting with family, or laying at the beach ON A WEDNESDAY, I get to work and make myself a cocktail (even though this recipe is portioned for two – don’t judge, enjoy responsibly). The Glitter Island cocktail is a frozen treat full of flavor reminiscent of those (long-gone) days of summer vacation. Get exotic with the garnish – pineapple is a good start, but think of adding ingredients such as kiwi, papaya, guava, mango or fruity sorbet.

Glitter Island (2 servings)
1 cup frozen sliced peaches – unsweetened
2 parts Malibu Island Melon Flavor Caribbean Rum
2 parts Hiram Walker Peach Flavored Schnapps
2½ parts Pineapple Juice
1½ parts Apricot Juice
Brut Champagne
Skewered Pineapple Garnish

Place all ingredients in blender except champagne and garnish. Blend until mixture is completely smooth. Divide between two decorative glasses. Top each glass with Brut Champagne. Garnish with skewered pineapple.

Who’s jealous of whom now?

Stephanie (Glitter Island) – 1
Friends in Grad School (Did somebody say dissertation?) – 0

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “An Island Destination

Leave a Reply

