A Drink for the Lady

March is National Women’s History Month. That’s right, just like African-Americans we get one lousy month a year when the spotlight is on us. So what feminist struggle should I focus on? The wage gap? Reproductive rights? Domestic equality? All important issues, but I think I’ll stick to what I know best…booze!

More specifically, I’d like to talk Scotch. Scotch is seen primarily as a man’s drink—it conjures up images of fat old men smoking cigars in a dark library somewhere. Hey, I’m sure those fat old men love them some Scotch, but I’m here to tell you they’re not the only ones.

The fact that some women may prefer to reach for a Chivas on the rocks rather than a vodka tonic may shock you, but it’s the truth, Ruth! As a young woman, I get recommendations for fruit-tinis from bartenders (both male and female) and looks of utter surprise when I order a brown spirit. Times are changing, friends—just take a look at the ladies of LUPEC Boston to get a good idea of how the classy, contemporary gal enjoys a drink.

So I’ll be sharing a few Scotchtails dedicated to the ladies this month. Let’s raise a glass to raise awareness of the serious issue of gender drinking stereotypes. And while we’re at it, let’s honor a few trailblazers who’ve come before us. Let’s start out with the March Cocktail, shall we?

March Cocktail

1 ½ oz. Chivas Regal 12 yo

1 oz. Pineapple Juice

1/3 oz. Vanille Sugar Syrup

1/3 oz. Grenadine

6 Basil leaves

Smash the Basil leaves to release flavor. Add the other ingredients to a cocktail shaker filled with ice. Strain into an Old Fashioned glass filled with ice.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Drink for the Lady

  1. Make me a sammich!

    Haha, just kidding. Women’s month…

    What I really meant was

    Make me a cocktail!

  2. Pingback: Scotch Cocktails Making a comeback | DHM Pub Blog

Leave a Reply

