Beefeater TDN Live in Seattle

vessel-signI think I’m just barely recovered from my wonderful trip to Seattle for the Beefeater sponsored Thursday Drink Night live event at Vessel. What a crazy time! I flew in that morning, shared 25 or so cocktails with a few of the best, and was on my way the following day in the wee hours of the morning.

 

Next time I visit Seattle I am definitely going to save more time to enjoy the city. What I saw of cimg3018it was wonderful and if Vessel is any indication of the quality of Seattle’s cocktail scene, it is most certainly worth another visit and a serious bar crawl.

 

I have to extend a huge thanks to Jim & Michael of Vessel who took such great care of our TDN crew, which included Paul Clarke, Stevi Deter, Robert Hess, Jamie Boudreau, Keith Waldbauer, and Charles Munat. What a great crowd! Also, thanks to Dan Warner, brand ambassador for Beefeater Gin. He spent a few hours fielding questions from participants and sharing his own perspective on great Beefeater cocktails. He shared a bit of Beefeater’s history and provenance, like the fact that it is the last major gin distiller making gin in London. It is the London Dry Gin, folks.

 

stevi_paul1At one point in the night I took an informal poll, asking TDN participants to name their favorite classic cocktail to make with Beefeater Gin. I thought for sure the martini would take it, but it was actually the Negroni, one that I have to admit I have yet to try. Better get on it, then!

 cimg30251

But moving on to original Beefeater cocktails, there were so many great new recipes shared for this TDN, and I made sure to try as many as I could! My personal favorite of the night was a cocktail with a name that sounds more like it belongs on a Chinese Take Out Menu—Sweet n Sour Beef, created by Ryanimo. Ryanimo, if you’re out there and would like your full name and/or a link put in here please drop me a note with your info! Your drink was awesome! Here it is:

 

cimg30201Sweet n Sour Beef by Ryanimo:

 

1 ½ oz. Beefeater Gin

1 oz. Lillet

¾ oz. Cherry Heering

½ oz lime juice

2 dash Regan’s Bitters

 

Shake the ingredients, strain and serve up.

 

Another star of the night for me was the Magic Carbonated Drink. I’m not sure of its creator (help me out, someone), but Stevi Deter did the naming. This one could only be enjoyed by the Vessel crew as its instructions employ the use of Perlini System, cimg30191which carbonates the drink and makes it fizzy and FANTASTIC! So if you can, head on down to Vessel and order this:

 

Magic Carbonated Drink:

 

1 ½ oz. Beefeater Gin

1 oz. Aperol

¼ oz. St Germain Elderflower Liqueur

2 dashes lavender bitters

 

Ask your Vessel bartender to throw this together, carbonate it, and serve up with a lemon twist. Yum!

 

As always, a few drinks were chosen as finalists for the drink of the night. Go check the recipes out and vote for your favorite on the Mixoloseum blog. I’ll also announce the winner here later this week. Hope to see you again soon, Seattle. Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Beefeater TDN Live in Seattle

  1. Wesley

    The creator’s name of the Perlini is Evan Wallace of Perlage Systems.

    http://www.perlagesystems.com

    -Wesley

  2. Next time you get to Seattle, you MUST try Zig Zag.

    That’s all. :D

  3. cocktailculture

    You’re right, Noelle. Next time I’ll make sure to save time for Zig Zag!

Leave a Reply

